Middle School

Welcome to our Middle School!

 

The Middle School at the Oregon School for the Deaf provides an environment which allows for our students to grow academically, personally and socially.  We believe in using American Sign Language as the primary mode of carrying out instruction in the classrooms, yet allowing room for adjusting the mode of communication to fit a student or situational need.  Students are placed in classes based on academic areas of need and improvement, which results in mixed-grade level groupings.

 

We provide a comprehensive educational program for students in grades six through eight.  The following core classes are offered: Math, Reading, Writing, Science and Social Studies. Students attend PE classes 4 days per week. Health class is offered during the 2nd semester. Electives include, but are not limited to: Lego Robotics, Computer Applications, English support, Spanish, FINAO (Failure Is Not An Option), Cooking and Work Experience.

 

Classes are set up according to our Period schedule.  Regular day consists of seven periods, four classes in the morning then three classes in the afternoon.  Homegoing 'A' day consists of 1,3,5,and 7 periods while homegoing 'B' day consists of 2, 4, 6, and 8 periods.

 

For more information, please contact:

 

Ms. Karen Brush, Lead Teacher

Karen.Brush@osd.k12.or.us

 

Ms. Chelsea Flora, Community Based Instruction Teacher

Chelsea.Flora@osd.k12.or.us

 

Ms. Michelle Hardey, Language Arts Teacher

Michelle.Hardey@osd.k12.or.us

 

Ms. Katie Heise, Language Arts Teacher

Katie.Heise@osd.k12.or.us

 

Mr. James Smith, Social Studies Tracher

James.Smith@osd.k12.or.us

 

Mr. Kris Hurst, Math and Science Teacher

Kris.Hurst@osd.k12.or.us

 

Ms. Jennifer Byrnes, Multi-grades Teacher

Jennifer.Byrnes@osd.k12.or.us

 

Mr. Scott Pfaff, PE Teacher

Scott.Pfaff@osd.k12.or.us

 

Mr. Greg Coughlan, Video/Media Teacher

Greg.Coughlan@osd.k12.or.us

 

Ms. Gayle Robertson, Art Teacher

Gayle.Robertson@osd.k12.or.us

 

Mr. Jesse Wise, School Counselor

Jesse.Wise@osd.k12.or.us

 

Mr. Robert Rich, Director of Instruction

Robert.Rich@osd.k12.or.us

 

Mr. Matthew Boyd, Principal

Matthew.Boyd@osd.k12.or.us